Three Forks Voice - Connect With Your Community!

By Jack H. Smith
Three Forks Voice 

Gallatin County Commission approves new legislative precinct boundaries


April 12, 2023

The Gallatin County Commission voted last week to approve new legislative precinct boundaries.

With the approval, the number of precincts in Gallatin County has grown from 32 to 46.

According to County Election Administrator Eric Semerad, the Montana Districting and Appropriation Commission in Helena had already set the legislative boundaries and filed with the Secretary of State on February 22.

"It is then the County Commissions' responsibility to conform the county precincts to the new House and Senate Districts within 45 days of that filing," Semerad said.

Using population data from the recent U.S. Census, new congressional and legislative districts can be drawn every 10 years.

The new precinct boundaries will become effective for all elections after July 2023.

The changes to the Three Forks area and the rest of Gallatin County can be found at


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Masthead 260x100
Lewis And Clark Journal

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023