By Jack H. Smith
Three Forks Voice 

Helvik resigns as Three Forks 6-12 Principal


Three Forks High School and Middle School will have a new principal for the 2019-20 school year.

The school board of trustees approved Tuesday night the resignation of 6-12 Principal Justin Helvik who will be taking a position as the assistant principal at Bozeman High School.

In his resignation letter, Helvik said he cannot state enough just how much the students, staff, and community of Three Forks means to him.

"Three Forks will always hold a special place in my heart. I will always hold the Three Forks Wolves in high regard. I will never forget the people in this special place, and I know that this school will continue to grow and prosper because of the students and staff who work here," Helvik said.

He also stressed to the community how important it is to support the schools and its bonds and levies.

"When you don't support your schools, it sends the wrong message," he said. "The ones that ultimately do suffer are the kids," he said.

Board member Sheri Brown thanked Helvik for what he has done for the district and said she is very sad to see him go.

During his report to the board, Superintendent Jeff Elliott discussed the realignment of administrators in the district and the possibility of a 9-12 principal, 6-8 and transportation principal, and a K-5 principal. He said the idea was brought to them and they wanted to discuss it.

The board also approved the resignations of technology education teacher and head high school football coach Matthew Bakken, special education teacher and assistant speech coach Brenda Massey, assistant high school football coach Stan Provenza and middle school boys basketball coach Shelby Mack.

The board also voted to hire Terry Hauser as the new Athletic Director. He will take over for longtime AD Mike Sauvageau. Bobby Lauver was hired as the new IT Director for Three Forks Schools, and the board also approved an independent contract for Dale Hilton as school psychologist.

A new member was sworn onto the board Tuesday. Stephene Kamerman was elected to the position May 7 and will take over the position of Dale Kober. Elliott presented Kober with a plaque for his numerous years of service. Kober said it has been fun and he hopes the board keeps having fun.

"If you can't have fun, it's not worth doing," he said.

In a restructuring of the board, Lori Sayers was voted the new board chair. The new vice chair is Joe Petersen.



Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 07/10/2020 15:19